U.S. Girls release ‘Overtime’ remix by Alex Frankel

U.S. Girls press photo
Photo Credit, Jeff Bierk

U.S. Girls’ standout single Overtime takes on new life as a ultra danceable remix by Holy Ghost’s Alex Frankel. Frankel took on the tricky task of remixing the original tracks, which were all recorded live in-studio with 20 musicians session musicians – including vocalist James Baley and E Street Band saxophonist Jake Clemons – in Montreal’s acclaimed Hotel 2 Tango studio. Overtime is lifted from ‘Heavy Light’ (Royal Mountain Records), the seventh album by U.S. Girls aka the protean musical enterprise of multi-disciplinary artist Meg Remy. Listen to Overtime Alex Frankel remix via YouTube below.

Also, in an essay on Discogs that is as intense as it is tender, Remy looks at what it really means to be a record collector — that is, a collector of plastic — as well as the impact of Ted Hawkins’ 1982 album, Watch Your Step, an essential listen right now. “I sometimes wonder if we are a community of music lovers or a community of fossil fuel-addicted, private-property beneficiaries?” Read it here: https://bit.ly/2YJoCTg

Recently, ‘Heavy Light‘ was long listed (for the third time) by the Polaris Music Prize and received deep praise from both Exclaim and The Globe and Mail as two outlets who declared ‘Heavy Light‘ to be one of the most masterful releases of 2020. ‘Heavy Light’ was produced by Remy, who also co-wrote the album with Basia Bulat and Rich Morel to develop the set of songs conceived as a balance between orchestral percussion (as richly arranged by percussionist Ed Squires) and the human voice (conducted by Kritty Uranowski). The resulting album finds Remy casting herself as lead voice among a harmonious multitude, the singers of which lend not only their voices, but also share reflections on childhood experiences that are collaged into moving spoken word interludes throughout the album. The album was mixed by long-time collaborators Maximilian ‘Twig’ Turnbull, Steve Chahley and Tony Price.

U.S. Girls Heavy Light cover artwork

‘Heavy Light’ track listing
 1. 4 American Dollars
2. Overtime
3. IOU
4. Advice To Teenage Self
5. State House (It’s A Man’s World)
6. Born To Lose
7. And Yet It Moves / Y Se Mueve
8. The Most Hurtful Thing
9. Denise, Don’t Wait
10. Woodstock ‘99
11. The Color Of Your Childhood Bedroom
12. The Quiver To The Bomb
13. Red Ford Radio