Wire to reissue first 3 albums via pinkflag

      Comments Off on Wire to reissue first 3 albums via pinkflag

Photo Credit: Annette Green

In addition to the previously announced Record Store Day 7″ singles box set release, the reissue of Wire’s first three hugely influential first three albums is announced. ‘Pink Flag’ (1977), ‘Chairs Missing’ (1978) and ‘154’ (1979) need no introduction. They are the three classic albums on which Wire’s reputation is based. Holy crap…holy crap….holy crap…we’re freakin’ out in the Culture Addicts’ camp because we’ve been waiting for these to be reissued so we can finally grab them on vinyl without having to sell a kidney.

These are the recordings that minted the post-punk form. This was adopted by other bands, but Wire were there first and are cited as a major influence by acts including Henry Rollins & Black Flag, R.E.M., Hüsker Dü, Minutemen, Minor Threat and many more. Heck, Elastica’s debut album pretty much re-gurgitated Wire in a brit-pop form.

These albums have been out of production for some time, but will be made available again this Spring via the band’s own pinkflag record label. The release formats will be firstly as special edition CD books with a mountain of exclusive unreleased material and rarities on May 19th, followed by standard edition LP and CD formats on June 22nd. More information on each release are listed below.

To celebrate the reissues of these prestigious records, Wire have shared a stream of the track Outdoor Miner. Take a listen via YouTube below.

Nine Sevens 7″ vinyl box set
Release date: April 21, 2018 (Record Store Day) on Pink Flag

Housed in a sturdy box with a beautiful cover concept by Bruce Gilbert, Nine Sevens is a unique set of nine 7-inch records that were recorded between 1977 and 1980. This strictly limited edition is a Record Store Day exclusive.

The box-set includes the six ground-breaking Wire singles that were originally released on the Harvest label, one released on Rough Trade, and one single recorded in 1980 that was never released on 7- inch. The set also includes the rare EP given away with the first pressings of ‘154′. Everything is freshly remastered from the original archive analogue sources, and comes packaged in the original picture sleeve designs.

The singles will be individually released digitally after Record Store Day but will not be compiled on a singles or greatest hits album.

Mannequin (Pfs1) – Mannequin / Feeling Called Love / 12XU
I Am The Fly (Pfs2) – I Am The Fly / Ex Lion Tamer
Dot Dash (Pfs3) – Dot Dash / Options R
Outdoor Miner (Pfs4) – Outdoor Miner / Practice Makes Perfect
A Question Of Degree (Pfs5) – A Question Of Degree / Former Airline
Map Ref. 41°N 93°W (Pfs6) – Map Ref. 41°N 93°W / Go Ahead
Our Swimmer (Pfs7) – Our Swimmer/ Midnight Bahnhof Café
154 EP (Pfs8) – Song 1/ Get Down pts 1&2 / Let’s Panic Later / Small Electric Piece
2nd Length (Pfs9) – 2nd Length (Our Swimmer) / Catapult 30

Pink Flag / Chairs Missing / 154 Standard Edition 12″ Vinyl & CD
Release date: June 22, 2018 on Pink Flag

It has been a number of years since these albums were readily available. The aim with these new vinyl and CD releases is to approximate the original statements as closely as possible, but with remastered audio.

The vinyl releases have the same covers and inners as the originals (minus the Harvest logo). The digi-pack CDs have identical tracklistings to their vinyl counterparts. These versions should be considered Wire’s classic 1970s albums, pure and undiluted.

Pink Flag / Chairs Missing / 154 special edition CD books
Release date: May 18, 2018 via Pink Flag 

These are the definitive re-releases. Each album is presented as an 80-page hardback book – the size of a 7-inch, but obviously much thicker. After a special introduction by Jon Savage, Graham Duff provides insight into each album. These texts include recording details, brand-new interviews with all original band members, and lyrics.

The original album is presented on its own CD, accompanied by discs that feature relevant extra tracks: singles; B-sides; demos; and many previously unreleased songs. Pink Flag is a two-CD set; Chairs Missing and 154 have three CDs each. All audio has been painstakingly remastered (or, in some cases, mastered for the first time).

This stunning set of presentations also includes a range of images from the archive of Annette Green. Wire’s official photographer during this period, Green also shot the covers for Pink Flag and Chairs Missing. Promotional and informal imagery – in colour and black and white – is featured throughout the books. Most of the photographs have not been seen for 40 years – and many have never been published any- where before.

For a full tracklisting go here – pinkflag.com/specialeditions/

These special editions are something every Wire fan will want to own.

Please note: although the three original albums remain available through digital stores and streaming services, the extra tracks from the special editions will not be released digitally.