Yore shares new track ‘Hawing’

Yore press photo
Photo Credit: Liza Molnar

Multi-instrumentalist and producer Callum Brown made his debut as Yore last month, with Bon Mot that featured Kate Drew of White Flowers, and saw a fresh spin on 90s guitar. Callum has been a part of the East-London music/art scene for years, previously playing in Mint Field, Josefin Ohrn, Fews, and Ulrika Spacek.

Now, Yore shares his next track Hawing where he’s joined by Dream Wife’s Rakel Mjöll Leifsdóttir for a summery duet. As we transition into autumn, this is a dream pop song for sweater weather.

The release also comes with a euphoric video, co-created with Andrew Rayner, and filmed by Mateusz Kotecki & JJ Oxberry Hogg from KØLEKTYV on the vacant streets of East London. Watch the video clip for Hawing via YouTube below.

On Hawing, Callum said; “I wrote this whilst on tour with Ulrika (Spacek), I think we were travelling through Switzerland during Summer and I had my laptop in the front of the van. I felt inspired by the scenery and the freeing feeling of being on the road travelling. As cliche as it might sound I just intuitively came up with something that felt very Summery & bright. 

I’ve known Rakel from Dream Wife for a few years and she has an incredibly versatile voice, we tracked the vocals at our rehearsal space in Hackney a few years back & ended up working with the first initial melodies she came up with. I gave her roam to write whatever sprung to mind & it fit the mood of the song perfectly. I just wanted to make a dreamy pop song & I think it encapsulates that feeling.” 

Yore will release his self-titled debut album on December 4th via FLAT FIVE Records.

Yore cover artwork
‘Yore’ track listing

1. Sally Out (ft Mellah & Nuha Ruby Ra)
2. Shade (ft Black Buffalo Gold)
3. Hawing (ft Rakel Leifsdottir)
4. Bon Mot (ft White Flowers)
5. Open Lights (ft Milan Monk)
6. Sol (ft Panacea)
7. Zig Zag (ft Oscar Browne)
8. Inside (ft Této Parvanov)
9. 40/40 (ft Milan Monk)
10. Fever Dreams (ft Rusalka)

More about Yore?

Living in the Hackney wick art space known as Vicious Collective, Callum has managed to assemble an eclectic mix of guest artists to feature on the record including Mellah, Nuha Ruby Ra, Black Gold Buffalo, Rakel Leifsdottir of Dream Wife, Katie Drew of White Flowers, Panacea, Rusalka, and Milan Monk of Haha Sounds Collective. 

The album is a celebration of indie collaboration akin to Broken Social Scene, the “cut and paste” aesthetic of Unkle and King Krule, as well as the dream-like nostalgia of Deerhunter and Unknown Mortal Orchestra. Created over several months in Hackney’s Wilton Way Studios, Callum enlisted the help of Ulrika Spacek’s Syd Kemp (Thurston Moore, Vanishing Twin, Spiritualised) to co-produce and record the 10 track album, resulting in a self-titled LP that opens with a wall of shoegaze ascending synths, and closes on a fever dream of delayed guitars and ethereal vocals; the perfect disparate soundtrack to the tumultuous times we live in.