Young Galaxy announce new album details

young galaxy

Young Galaxy have announced details of their fourth LP, ‘Ultramarine,’ which will be released via Paper Bag Records on April 23. The album was made with electronic producer Dan Lissvik in Gothenburg, Sweden, at Lissvik’s studio which was very different from the recording of 2011’s ‘Shapeshifting’; this time the band stood in a room with Lissvik, playing their instruments and every song was sung by co-founder Catherine McCandless. Watch a teaser for the album below via YouTube.

[youtube_sc url=”” theme=”light”]

“In being away from home we felt like we could risk more,” McCandless says. “Take bigger chances. Things we didn’t think would work, we tried anyway.”

According to the label, ‘Ultramarine’ is more direct than previous Young Galaxy records have been, with songs of azure longing, Young Galaxy haven’t lost their other aspect: a willfulness, a purposeful independence, and a sense of darkness, unilluminated.  As lighthearted as ‘Ultramarine’ can be – as much as you can dance to it – there is also something elemental, something underneath. 


1. Pretty Boy
2. Fall For You
3. New Summer
4. Fever
5. Hard To Tell
6. What We Want
7. Out the Gate Backwards
8. In Fire
9. Privileged Poor
10. Sleepwalk With Me

For more information on Young Galaxy, visit

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.