Zoon shares new single + video ‘Light Prism’

Zoom press photo
Photo credit: Vanessa Heins

Zoon has shared another new single, Light Prism lifted from his pristinely created ‘moccasin-gaze’ debut LP, ‘Bleached Wavves’ set for release on June 19, 2020 via Paper Bag Records. In the Ojibway language, the word Zoongide’ewin means “bravery, courage, the Bear Spirit.” So, Daniel Monkman adopted Zoon as his musical name-sake. The Hamilton-based musician has spent the better part of his 28 years overcoming such adversities as racism, poverty and addiction. Watch the video Light Prism video via YouTube below.

With Light Prism, Daniel’s intentions were to be gentle. “I didn’t want the song to have a chorus with a vocal melody so I created a sample from scratch, spliced it up and reversed it to create an abstract instrumental melody.” The song tracks a memory collage for Daniel that pulls from his time spent around Turtle Island and parts of his life spent in Selkirk, Manitoba – a rough, prison town that was heavily effected by drugs, gangs and the untimely death of some of his peers.

Light Prism is also about reflection and being able to put things to rest. “When it came time to properly record guitars and textures, I wanted to be easy on myself. I realized that during my journey down the ‘spiral staircase’ I was very harsh with myself, so throughout the album I made the music very vulnerable and soft.

And what started out as a video shoot turned into the hiring of a bass player. Director Drew Rutty notes: “When we shot the footage for the video, I was not a part of the band. However over the course of editing and adding a shifting pool of colour and light to the footage we had, Dan asked me to join the band as bassist.” 

On his debut album, ‘Bleached Wavves’ Zoon paints a message of hope and fortitude, lessons he learned studying the Seven Grandfather teachings after experiencing the lowest point of his life and channeling it all through the shoegaze filter with nods of inspiration to one of his favourite and formative bands, My Bloody Valentine. The creation of the LP was a testament to Daniel’s ability to reverse engineer with minimal gear (his guitar and a digital delay pedal) and recording at his home the intricate sounds and layers of music texture he heard in his head. He was sometimes forced to wait days or weeks to return to working on songs, this patience and reality of ‘waiting’ currently something the entire world is similarly and collectively experiencing right now. 

Zoon Bleached Wavves cover artwork

Bleached Wavves’ track list
1. Clouded Formation 
2. Vibrant Colours 
3. Was & Always Will Be 
4. Bleached Wavves
5. BrokenHead 
6. A Perfect Sunset, Ahead 
7. Light Prism 
8. Landscapes 
9. Infinite Horizons 
10. Help Me Understand 

‘Bleached Wavves’ has been led by the shimmering lead track, Vibrant Colours and Help Me Understand.

Born and raised in Selkirk, Manitoba, a small prison town outside of Winnipeg he describes as “one of the roughest places,” Daniel has constantly faced an uphill battle. In his teens he was victimized for his First Nations heritage, which led to him abusing drugs and alcohol as a coping mechanism. His best friend died of an overdose; he nearly followed him on multiple occasions. But with the spiritual guidance he learned from 12-step therapy, Monkman got clean and began to follow a passion for music he discovered from a young age growing up within the Brokenhead Ojibway Nation.