Air Canada enRoute Film Festival reveals 2014 award nominees

Air Canada has announced the finalists of the eighth annual Air Canada enRoute Film Festival. Award categories include Best Short Film, Achievement in Direction, Achievement in Cinematography, Achievement in Animation, and, new this year, Achievement in Documentary.

The 2014 Air Canada enRoute Film Festival Award Nominees are:

  • Yassmina Karajah for ‘Light’
  • Renaud Lessard for ‘The Wild Kids’
  • Russell Ratt-Brascoupe for ‘The Hearing’
  • Raquel Sancinetti for ‘Cycle’

The winner of the Best Short Film Award will receive a cash prize of $5,000 courtesy of Cineplex Entertainment. All winners will receive an all-inclusive trip for two to the Berlin International Film Festival, courtesy of Air Canada.

A free public screening of the nominated short films will take place on Wednesday, November 5 at the Scotiabank Theatre Toronto (259 Richmond Street St. W., Toronto) from 7 to 9 p.m. An exclusive awards celebration will take place at 2nd Floor Events immediately after the screening hosted by an ETALK presenter. Jury members expected to attend the awards celebration include NFB executive producer Michael Fukushima, actor Jennifer Podemski and 2013 Air Canada enRoute Film Festival Best Short Film Award Winner Andrew Moir.

Voting for the People’s Choice Award runs until Friday, Oct. 31 on The winner will be announced at the Wednesday, November 5th awards celebration and will win a trip for two to a destination of their choice within North America, courtesy of Air Canada.

From August to December 2014, millions of Air Canada passengers can view all of the selected short films on their personal entertainment system, which offers 600 hours of digital movies, television and music entertainment, available on demand at the touch of a finger.

For news on the festival, film profiles, and events, visit

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.