Album review: Autobahn – The Moral Crossing

Autobahn The Moral Crossing cover

Autobahn The Moral Crossing coverLeeds-based quintet AUTOBAHN will release their sophomore album ‘The Moral Crossing’ on November 3 via felte (The Americas) and Tough Love Records (rest of world). The have some cool coloured vinyl variations based on geographic location.

For the most part, the album is dark, stark, with a sense of urgency, and sounds like its ready to detonate at any moment. Songs like the title track The Moral Crossing with it’s frantic drum beat and oscillating guitars and Execution-Rise’s intense vocals and droning guitars, but some softer synth driven tracks like Future and melodic vocals on Torment bring the album back from the boiling point to give some breaks to the tension.

This is the sound of a band who are ambitious and want control over their music to put out records exactly as they intended – the album was self-produced.

If you’re into bands like Interpol, The Cure, Eagulls or The Horrors, you should give this one a listen, and it will likely be right up your alley.

Take a listen to The Moral Crossing via YouTube below.

The Moral Crossing

1. Prologue
2. Obituary
3. Future
4. The Moral Crossing
5. Torment
6. Low/High
7. Execution/Rise
8. Creation
9. Fallen
10. Vessel

The album can be pre-ordered now on limited edition vinyl, CD and digitally at the felte online store.