Andrew Hung releases ‘Devastations’ + shares ‘Goodbye’ video

Andrew Hung press shot
Photo credit: Klaus Thymann

Artist and musician Andrew Hung returns with the release of his much-anticipated second solo album ‘Devastations’, which is out via Lex Records. The album marks Hung’s first new solo material since his 2017 breakthrough debut ‘Realisationship’, and continues to see him shatter expectations with his bold and unique new direction of expression, earning plaudits across a vast array of press and radio.

Whereas his debut album saw his personal new form of articulation manifest, the new album sees Hung further hone and actualise a sound that is entirely his own. ‘Devastations’ is the ecstatic cry of colour found between light and dark. The album documents a transitional period in Hung’s life; a stepping out from the shadows. Hung explores the deepest recesses of his psyche and in doing so finds himself reconciling the light and dark within. Underlying the propulsive beats and flashes of noise is a melodic tenderness that weaves throughout the album; an offering hand emerging from a turbulent sky. The deepening of inner space becomes an exploration of the universal; a new beginning from the devastations of old worlds.

Speaking about the album Hung says, “Devastations is a breaking out from the prisms of perceptions into the infinite hope we all hold deep inside.

Alongside the release, Hung has also shared a video for album closer Goodbye. The cathartic new song is a fitting end to the new album, transcending Hung’s glitchy electronic sensibilities with emphatic instrumentation, which repeatedly peaks before fragmenting and reassembling around Hung’s sanguine vocals.

Going on to speak about the track, he says “My songs are my subconscious talking to itself, and this is about how it tried to say goodbye to itself. Well in a way it succeeded because the excavation of self I underwent has allowed my subconscious to breathe again. I hope.”

Watch the video for Goodbye via YouTube below.

Goodbye is the fourth single to be taken from Hung’s new album, following shortly after Wave and Promises, which was accompanied by a video directed by cult director Jim Hosking, who Hung has previously worked with soundtracking ‘The Greasy Strangler’ (winner best comedy at the Empire awards) and ‘An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn’. The video features Joe Walters, who starred in ‘The Greasy Strangler’.  

Prior to that,Hung released Space, which was the first track lifted from the album, earning critical acclaim from the likes of Stereogum, The Line Of Best Fit, Brooklyn Vegan, CLASH and more.

‘Devastations’ also marks Andrew’s first new solo material since his 2017 breakthrough debut ‘Realisationship’, which saw him shatter expectations with his bold and unique new direction of expression, earning plaudits across a vast array of press and radio.

As co-founder of the highly influential noise-electronic duo, Fuck Buttons, Hung’s work has brought about three critically acclaimed albums as well as seeing him tour extensively with headline shows at the Kentish Town Forum, Glastonbury, Green Man and All Tomorrow’s Parties, as well as having music featured on the 2012 Olympics opening ceremony.

Since Fuck Button’s hiatus, Hung has become known not only for his solo material, but also for his work on film soundtracks and as a songwriter and producer. Notable songwriting collaborations include the likes of artist Beth Orton on her career redefining album ‘Kidsticks’ as well as, Aimée Osbourne for her debut album ‘Vacare Adamaré’ (released under the name ARO).

‘Devastations’ sees Andrew Hung push himself to the fore with his most candid and introspective material to date and sees a clear statement of intent in his creative odyssey. Hung wrote, performed, produced and mixed the whole album himself. He also painted the self-portrait that adorns the cover of the album. The oil painting further illuminates the artist’s intentions in his work; it depicts the artist stepping out of a shadowy world, partially lit by the bright light of the sun.

Album artwork by Andrew Hung

Devastations’ track list
1. Battle
2. Promises
3. Brother
4. Colour
5. Light
6. Wave
7. Space
8. Goodbye

‘Devastations’ is out now via Lex Records – Buy / Stream here.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.