Captured Tracks announces MOURN self-titled debut

Mourn photo

Captured Tracks has announced that the young Catalonian foursome called MOURN is the newest addition to their roster. Born from the friendship of Jazz Rodríguez Bueno and Carla Pérez Vas – who later recruited drummer Antonio Postius and bassist Leia Rodríguez – MOURN is a foursome of self-proclaimed “Nerds playing music and shit at the doors of hell.” Paying homage to the likes of PJ Harvey, Patti Smith, Sebadoh and Sleater-Kinney, but with such subtle and sophisticated reverence, it’s hard to believe that they’re so young (Jazz [18], Carla [18)] Antonio [18] and Leia [15])

On February 17th, 2015, Captured Tracks will release the band’s self-titled debut on vinyl (out digitally now though), which will feature 11 tracks recorded live over two days in the studio. If you purchase the digital version before December 1st, we’ll give you the bonus track Boys Are Cunts. Pre-order of the vinyl available here. You can listen to and download lead single Silver Gold right now via Soundcloud below.

mourn cover image

Your Brain Is Made Of Candy
Dark Issues
Misery Factory
You Don’t Know Me
Silver Gold
Boys Are Cunts (Bonus Track)


Read an interview with Captured Tracks’ founder Mike Sniper and MOURN here.

More about MOURN? MOURN is a very young quartet formed from the friendship of Jazz Rodríguez Bueno and Carla Pérez Vas – both born in 1996 in El Maresme, Catalonia, Spain. The duo armed themselves with inspiration from PJ Harvey, Patti Smith, Sebadoh and Sleater-Kinney and began writing material, which they quickly released, raw and acoustic, on their YouTube channel. These recordings caught the attention of their homeland’s Sones. Despite being teenagers, earlier this year they came out of the studio (along with even younger recruits – drummer Antonio Postius and bassist Leia Rodríguez) with a brilliant treatise of indie rock that has stunned those who have had the opportunity to listen to it.

Jazz (18), Carla (18), Leia (15) and Antonio (18) came together to present these tracks with authenticity and self-awareness beyond their age. With the confidence only residing in youth, the Mourn debut was recorded live in the studio in two days, proof of which is in their live-in-the-studio videos for singles “Otitis” and “Your Brain is Made of Candy.” Both tracks perfectly capture the bands’ affinity for the brevity of The Ramones with the lyrical and melodic sophistication of The Pixies. The immediacy is apparent and the LP contains the “lightning in a bottle” quality that most bands work for years to catch. The band’s self-written motto states “Four nerds playing music and shit at the doors of hell.” Thankfully for us, this moment was documented and we have the self-titled debut to enjoy for years to come.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.