Dead Stars announce sophomore LP ‘Bright Colors’

Dead Stars

Dead Stars will release their sophomore LP, ‘Bright Colors,’ on March 4th via their own Weird Tree Records. A follow-up to 2014’s ‘Slumber,’ it features more crunchy guitars, catchy pop melodies, and big, explosive choruses from the Brooklyn-based band.

The album is currently available for pre-order, which comes with an instant download of lead single Calm Punk. The band have shared a video for the track, pairing its bouncy guitar lines and heavy-hitting chorus with visuals that expand on the song’s oxymoronic title. You can watch the video via YouTube below.

Dead Stars’ fuzzed-out sound has earned comparisons to indie-rock titans like Dinosaur Jr., Teenage Fanclub, Weezer, and The Lemonheads, but they’re not riding the coattails of ’90s nostalgia; they’re simply remembering what drew them to music in the first place.

The infectious college radio anthems that dominated the airwaves, the epic guitar riffs and anthemic choruses that led to dreams of quitting school, escaping suburbia, and touring the world, and the ear-splitting feedback resonating from all-ages clubs across America seeped into their brains and never left. It’s what gives Dead Stars’ songs that unmistakable feeling of being invincible, and it’s based on the notion that you don’t need gimmicks to make a statement: all you need are some catchy tunes and a couple of good friends to jam with.


Dead Stars Bright Colors cover
‘Bright Colors’ track list:
1. Calm Pun
2. In My Mind
3. Stay Here
4. Bloomer
5. Some Days
6. Unpopular
7. So Strange
8. Haze
9. Living Alone
10. Oh Well


The band has a handful of upcoming shows – including a record release show at Rough Trade in March – with more tour dates TBA. See below for a list of upcoming shows.

Upcoming shows:
1/26: Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right (w/ Diet Cig, Winstons)
2/19: Jersey City, NJ @ The Citizen
3/4: Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade (record release show)