Echo Ladies share video for new single ‘Coming Home’

Echo Ladies press photo
Photo credit: Albin Bogren

Malmö, Sweden shoegaze/dreampop trio Echo Ladies have shared the video for their new single Coming Home which is out now via Rama Lama Records/Grazehop Records.

A dense wash of distorted noise that cruises gratifyingly along on a frenetic, driving backbeat, the track is the latest to be taken from their forthcoming second album ‘Lillies,’ which is released on September 8th 2023, and follows on from previous singles Awake and Fabrik which were released earlier this year. Watch the video for Coming Home via YouTube below.

Commenting on the track, the band say: “This song is heavily inspired by two of our favourite bands, A Place To Bury Strangers and The Jesus & Mary Chain. Our aim was to make the song feel like a big wave of noise, feedback, and guitars that hits you in the face. We can’t remember how many layers of fuzzed and distorted guitars are on this track, but it’s a lot…”

Echo Ladies are Matilda Bogren, Mattis Andersson and Joar Andersén—three school-friends who, after playing together in a few different bands, realised that they worked best on their own. In 2014, after looking for “a name that represented our sound”, they became Echo Ladies, partly inspired by the name of the drum machine from another of their favourite bands, Echo & The Bunnymen (though their own drum machine, for now, remains nameless).

Following a quiet spell for the band while the rest of the world turned upside down, Echo Ladies are now proudly returning with their second album Lillies, recorded and mastered by Joakim Lindberg at Studio Sickan in Malmö, and following on from their acclaimed 2018 debut Pink Noise on Sonic Cathedral, which was one of Rough Trade’s albums of the year.

With the luxury of developing the music over several years, ‘Lillies’ is built on the same foundation that Echo Ladies laid during their past releases, but with a more unyielding presence—though you still find clear inspiration from shoegaze greats Jesus and the Mary Chain, A Place To Bury Strangers, Slowdive, and many more.

Echo Ladies have always tried to balance juxtaposing emotions on their songs, but commenting on the new album they say: “While our past material conveyed feelings of nostalgia and hope for the future mixed with worries and anxieties about defining who you are and what you will become, Lillies instead tries to balance the emotions of sorrow and loneliness, with anger, frustration, and the determination to make a change for the better. This album really carries the Echo Ladies mantra that ‘Nothing Ever Lasts’—good things can come to an end, but bad things will also pass.”

Debut album ‘Pink Noise’ was Bandcamp’s Album of The Day, and the band’s previous releases have picked up support from MOJO, UNCUT, The Arts Desk, The Line Of Best Fit, CLASH and more, and also received plenty of airplay on BBC 6Music, BBC R1, Radio X, Amazing Radio, and Beats 1.

Echo Ladies Lillies cover artwork

Lillies’ track list

1. Fabrik
2. Selfcontrol
3. Dirty Dancing
4. Coming Home
5. Lilies
6. Getting On Me
7. Awake
8. Illness
9. Strangers
10. Funeral 

Second album ‘Lillies’ will be released on September 8th 2023 via Rama Lama Records / Grazehop Records

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.