Executioner’s Mask share ‘Ratboy’ remix

Executioner’s Mask Remixing Despair cover artwork

Executioner’s Mask released their darkwave album ‘Despair Anthems’ on July 10th via Profound Lore.  Now, the group has announced a V.2 version of the album: ‘Remixing Despair,’ which will be out October 2nd on Bandcamp. All profits from the album will benefit Hillside SPCA in Pottsville, PA. Featuring never-before-heard remixes by Plack Blague, Black Magnet, Fotocrime and more, the reimagined version of ‘Despair Anthems’ is a must-hear for any fan of dark music. 

To give us a taste of the remix album, the band have share the Ratboy remix, forged by the emerging engineer/producer/songwriter King Yosef.  The track surfaces with a visualizer created by Executioner’s Mask luminary Jay Gambit, which captures the track’s overall feeling of dread and despondence.  

Gambit comments, “For me, malls will always be more than just a mausoleum of 90’s capitalistic excess; they were important destinations where we lived important moments of our lives. By juxtaposing images of these shopping centers in their prime with those same settings today in disrepair, I hope to evoke the same feeling of longing for another, better time – even if it only exists in our dreams.” 

Watch the Ratboy (King Yosef remix) visualizer via YouTube below.

Executioner’s Mask continue: “As you may have noticed, we couldn’t really tour this year. We miss you. We miss acting like idiots with amplification. We miss seeing all of our friends.  This is why we asked some buddies to help out with this, a reimagined ‘Despair Anthems’. A wild group appeared, from members of modern goth pioneers Bestial Mouths and High Functioning Flesh to King Yosef – whose brooding production style has driven rappers like Ski Mask Da Slump God and XXXTentacion down dark, industrial territories. This eclectic group has transformed our debut into something otherworldly and fantastic, beyond our wildest imaginations.  

Available October 2nd 2020 on Bandcamp with all profits going to the Hillside SPCA. Hillside rescues neglected, abused and otherwise vulnerable animals and with all that’s going on with COVID and evictions – their intake has catastrophically increased. 100% of our the sales of the record will go to Hillside and will help with precious resources that save lives. Enjoy the record, and remember — Life is temporary. Despair is forever. 

Xo The Mask” 

Look for Executioner’s Mask’s ‘Remixing Despair‘ on October 2nd via Bandcamp, and check out the track listing and details below (with cover art pictured above). 

Remixing Despair’ track listing

1. The Defilers (Contracult Remix) 
2. No Funeral (Fotocrime Remix)
3. Bury Me A Grave (Sølve Remix)
4. 1988 (Some Ember Remix) 
5. In The Night (Skeleton Hands Remix) 
6. True Blue (Xander Harris Remix)
7. Growing Distances (Physical Wash Remix)
8. Hatred Of Self (Black Magnet Remix)
9. Ratboy (King Yosef Remix)
10. Desperation Rising (Psalm Zero Remix)
11. Freight Of Fire (Plack Blague Remix)