Fake Palms share new track ‘I’m Not There’

Fake Palms

Fake PalmsToronto’s Fake Palms has shared I’m Not There, the second single lifted from their forthcoming full length. The album, which is entitled ‘Pure Mind’ will be out via Buzz Records and Pleasence Records on September 15th. It’s available for preorder here. Take a listen to I’m Not There via YouTube below.

I’m Not There follows a similar trajectory, rapidly transitioning through disparate sections that are at turns pummeling and delicate, as chiming guitars and understated electronic flourishes (a hallmark of Holy Fuck‘s Graham Walsh, who produced the album with Josh Korody and Fake Palm’s singer / guitarist Mike le Riche) cut through the buzzing haze of the band’s frenetic rhythm.

The track is accompanied by a warped clip of the children’s cartoon character Spot the Dog, created by video artist Maria Bui. Spot cuts a solitary figure, who is leant an odd poignancy in the context of the song’s focus on alienation from modern life, as le Riche said:

“‘I’m Not There’ is a meditation on modern society and where we’re at as a whole. It’s not a political statement by any means, it’s us trying to find our place while feeling completely alienated among consumer culture and the general egomania of the selfie generation.”

Fake Palms Pure Mind cover


1. Fear
2. I’m Not There
3. Heaven Scent
4. Glass Walls
5. II
6. Perfect Day
7. Fall Ahead
8. Holograms
9. Can’t Erase
10. Cannot Describe
11. Yr Such A Nag

Along with the single, the band have also announced a series of tour dates, including stops at Pop Montreal and Halifax Pop with Beliefs, Partner and Vallens – full details can be found below.

Tour dates
September 14 Pop Montreal – Brasserie Beaubien w/ Beliefs, Vallens, Petra Glynt
October 13 Sudbury – The Townehouse
October 14 Toronto – Smiling Buddha w/ Cindy Lee, Lee Paradise
October 19 Halifax Pop – Seahorse Tavern w/ Partner
October 20 Halifax Pop – CKDU Day party