Greys share ‘Arc Light’ video

Greys press shot

Greys announced their third LP, ‘Age Hasn’t Spoiled You,’ earlier this month, and also shared the album’s first single These Things Happen. Now, they’ve released a second track lifted from the album in the form of a Rachelle Walker-directed videovideo. Watch Arc Light via YouTube below.

In a recent interview with FADER, Greys’ frontman Shehzaad Jiwani suggested that in the sessions for the new album the band tried to “do the opposite of what we’d normally do,” moving away from off the floor recordings, and experimenting with the possibilities of the studio by doing things like running “guitar feedback through samplers, drum machines through amps, try to stack drums on top so it was like the Bomb Squad producing a Sonic Youth track.”

According to Jiwani, Arc Light was the first track the band worked on for ‘Age Hasn’t Spoiled You,’ and he feels that it encapsulates what the band is trying to accomplish with their new record.

If there were one song to communicate everything Greys is about, it would be Arc Light,” he says. “This is the first song we recorded for ‘Age Hasn’t Spoiled You’ at the top of 2018, and each song we wrote over the year we spent making the album could trace a piece of itself back to this one. Musically, it’s everywhere we’ve been and everywhere we’re going. We tried to re-imagine and re-contextualize the tools we are comfortable using to make something new. The lyrics try to evoke a number of things within each line – mental exhaustion, content fatigue, tours of duty and alienation – and the images in the video reflect these overlapping concepts. The song lands somewhere between Unwound’s New Plastic Ideas and Check Your Head by the Beastie Boys. Or something. I don’t know. You tell me.” 

Greys Age Hasn't Spoiled You album cover

Track list
1. A-440
2. Arc Light
3. Constant Pose
4. These Things Happen
5. Kill Appeal
6. Western Guilt
7. Tangerine 
8. Aphantasia
9. Burning Chrome
10. Shelley Duval In 3 Women
11. Static Beach

Greys’ ‘Age Hasn’t Spoiled You’ will be released via Carpark on May 10th. It’s available for pre-order here