Home Counties release art-punk single ‘Village Spirit’

Home Counties press release
Photo credit: Tatiana Pozuelo

London based genre-hopping punks Home Counties have released their new single Village Spirit, the second track to be lifted from the band’s second EP ‘In A Middle English Town’ out February 11, 2022 via Alcopop! Records.

Firmly establishing themselves over the past 18 months as one of the UK’s most vital new bands, Village Spirit captures the vibrance and individuality of their releases to date, merging frenetic dual guitar interplay with bubbling electronics, honing their unique brand of melodic pop-fuelled art-punk.

“The song is based on a book by historian Alain Corbin, Village of Cannibals, which is about the murder of a nobleman in late nineteenth century France” singer Will Harrison notes. “Based on rumours, the whole village was whipped up into a frenzy and ended up brutally torturing and murdering the nobleman. The lyrics focus on the contrast between positivity of place-based collectivism, and the meaning it can bring, and the often tragic consequences of it. It’s a really messed up story, and contrasts what is probably one of our most gentle and melodic songs.” Listen to Village Spirit via Soundcloud below.

Produced and mixed by the band’s guitarist Conor Kearney, the new track follows the new EP’s lead single The Home Counties – an electrifying fusion of danceable punk and synth-fuelled guitar pop praised by publications including The i, DIY Magazine, Dork Magazine, Gigwise, The Forty-Five and more, alongside radio airplay from Steve Lamacq (BBC 6 Music) and Gemma Bradley (BBC Radio 1).

Home Counties launched straight out of lockdown 2021 and into a busy summer of festivals and tour dates, including sold out headline shows at the 100 Club and Servant Jazz Quarters. When not on the road with acts including FEET, Courting and BDRMM, they put the finishing touches on ‘In A Middle English Town’ out 11th February on Alcopop! Records – supported with their first UK headline tour commencing on 16th February. ‘In A Middle English Town’ follows the band’s debut EP ‘Redevelopment’ released in 2020, and 2021’s standalone singles Modern Yuppies and White Shirt / Clean Shirt.

“Self-producing ‘Modern Yuppies’ and ‘White Shirt’ during lockdown definitely gave us time to flesh out the Home Counties sound and build a firm idea of where this project is heading next”, Harrison went on to say. “It was exciting to create these wacky synth-driven singles and that’s definitely something we’ve taken forward into this EP. It was always the plan to go a bit mad with those singles and then finesse the sound for the EP, reintroducing the rawer live elements and returning to the studio as a 5-piece.”

“We’re often labelled as a Bristol band but we left uni a few years ago and then found ourselves stuck in our hometown in Bucks for a year during the pandemic. The name Home Counties didn’t hold much significance when we formed, but being back here for the past 12 months made us reflect more about our sense of place here. The EP isn’t directly about our experiences – it more lives in a semi-fictitious and generalised idea of Middle England.”

Since forming in January 2020, Home Counties have distinguished themselves as a key act to watch, with radio support from Jack Saunders, Huw Stephens (BBC Radio 1), Steve Lamacq, Amy Lame, Tom Robinson (BBC 6Music) along with press support from The Line Of Best Fit, DIY Magazine, Loud & Quiet, NME, Dork Magazine, Clash Magazine, So Young Magazine and more.

Home Counties are: Will Harrison (vocals/guitar), Conor Kearney (guitar/vocals), Dan Hearn (drums), Barn Peiser Pepin (synth/percussion/vocals) and Bill Griffin (bass/vocals).

2022 Headline Tour 

16 FEB – Jericho Tavern, Oxford
17 FEB – Hare & Hounds 2, Birmingham
18 FEB – Castle Hotel, Manchester
19 FEB – Headrow House, Leeds
21 FEB – The Louisiana, Bristol
22 FEB – Heartbreakers, Southampton
23 FEB  – Prince Albert, Brighton
24 FEB – The Lexington, London
9 APR – Wide Eyed Festival, Leicester
29 APR – Grayston Unity, Halifax

‘In A Middle English Town’ track list
1. Back To The 70s
2. The Home Counties
3. Ad Gammon
4. Village Spirit

New single Village Spirit is out now via Alcopop! Records. Home Counties’ new EP ‘In A Middle English Town’ will be released February 11th.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.