NOTHING announce new album ‘The Great Dismal’

NOTHING press photo
Credit: Ben Rayner

NOTHING return with their highly anticipated new full-length, ‘The Great Dismal’. Recorded throughout quarantine with producer Will Yip at Pennsylvania’s Studio Four, ‘The Great Dismal‘ explores existentialist themes of isolation, extinction, and human behaviour in the face of 2020’s vast wasteland. Arriving just prior to the band’s ten year anniversary, the LP is out October 30th on LP/CD/CS/Digital via Relapse Records. 

The band have released the first single lifted from ‘The Great Dismal’. Watch the official Say Less music video, directed by Jordan Hemingway (The Academy Films) via YouTube below and listen on all streaming services here.

Closing in on the band’s ten-year mark, NOTHING frontman Domenic Palermo finds himself stringing together songs of misanthropic tales of Philadelphia with a refined and refreshed take on the band’s classic sound.

The Great Dismal refers to a swamp, a brilliant natural trap where survival is custom fit to its inhabitants,” Palermo states. “The nature of its beautiful, but taxing environment and harsh conditions can’t ever really be shaken or forgotten too easily.”

The Great Dismal‘ track list

1. A Fabricated Life
2. Say Less
3. April Ha Ha
4. Catch a Fade
5. Famine Asylum
6. Bernie Sanders
7. In Blueberry
8. Memories
9. Blue Mecca
10. Just a Story
11. Ask The Rust

The ever progressive NOTHING keep true to their chaotic outlook on life, keeping a keen eye as to avoid repetition. With a radical cast of talented contributors such as harpist Mary Lattimore, classical musician Shelley Weiss, and singer/songwriter/producer Alex G., ‘The Great Dismal’ showcases yet another essential side of the band’s trademark American Post-Shoegaze sound.

‘The Great Dismal’ physical pre-orders are available here and Digital Downloads/Streaming here. Super Deluxe vinyl edition includes a re-sealable mylar bag, 20 page LP sized booklet and custom OBI strip.