Pink Mexico share doomy shoegaze track ‘Shame’

Pink Mexico press photo
Photo: Arvelisse Ruby Bonilla Ramos

Pink Mexico today shares the new single, Shame; an existentialist gaze-soaked crusher that takes the band’s doomy indie into some of their moodiest territory yet. Shame is the second single to be released in anticipation of their ‘Mirrorhead’ LP (due 5/19 via Quiet Panic) and follows the March release of the psych-infused Dungeonhead.

Reflecting on the track, Pink Mexico’s Robert Preston Collum explains that “It’s a shame we as humans are so insecure and selfish that we’re incapable of having respect for one another. The only undeniable certainties in this life are; no one decides to be born and we all die.” Listen to Shame via SoundCloud below.

‘Mirrorhead’ is the first album release from Pink Mexico since 2020’s ‘Idiot Piss Illiterate’ (Broken Clover Records) and was written and recorded during the period that album was released. While ‘Idiot Piss Illiterate’ rode on a frantic garage rock undercurrent, ‘Mirrorhead’ swaps ragged pace for bruising waves of heavy sound (Junkie Smile, Victimhead, Shame) interspersed with moments of stripped-back exposure (Fuck It I Quit, Muring Calm). The result  is Pink Mexico’s most definite and tangible work. ‘Mirrorhead’ is not only a record but a recollection of memories and experiences embroidered through experimentation and through the reconstruction of self. Through the unknown, Collum revisited music writing and re-imagined his work, tracing a new and personal path.

‘Mirrorhead’ was produced, recorded, engineered and mixed by Jeremy Scott. Robert Preston Collum wrote all songs, sings, and plays drums, guitar & synth on the album. Additional tracking was provided by fellow band mates Grady Walker providing bass and Paul Blackwell on guitar.

The release of ‘Mirrorhead’ will be celebrated with a special album release show on June 11th at TV Eye in Ridgewood, Queens, with TVOD, Substitute and a special guest TBA. More info and tickets, here.

Pink Mexico Mirrorhead cover artwork

‘Mirrorhead’ track list

1. Hot Air
2. Junkie Smile
3. Shame
4. Fuck It I Quit
5. Delete
6. …
7. Muring Calm
8. Dungeonhead
9. Stitches & Vicodin
10. Victimhead
11. Feeling Normal

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.