Pink Mexico share ‘Dungeonhead’ video

Pink Mexico press photo
Photo: Arvelisse Ruby Bonilla Ramos

NYC heavy pop project Pink Mexico share the brooding visual for their recent Dungeonhead single. The video is shot across the band’s home borough of Queens and sees them returning to work with filmmaker Steven Ungureanu, who previously worked with the band on their 2019 video Dirty & Stupid. Watch the Dungeonhead video clip via YouTube below.

Pink Mexico originally announced their signing to Quiet Panic Records and shared the Dungeonhead single on March 24th, with the track serving as a psych-fueled and reverb-juiced entry point into the uncertain world explored on the upcoming ‘Mirrorhead’ album, which arrives on May 19th. 

Discussing Dungeonhead, Pink Mexico’s Robert Preston Collum calls it “a track about never feeling comfortable in one’s own skin while reflecting on the obscurities of life during a time when the regular version of confusing and fucked up is even more fucked up and confusing”.

Also announced is a special album release show on June 11th at TV Eye in Ridgewood, Queens, with TVOD, Substitute and a special guest TBA. More info and tickets, here.

‘Mirrorhead’ is the first album release from Pink Mexico since 2020’s ‘Idiot Piss Illiterate’ (Broken Clover Records) and was written and recorded during the period that album was released. While Idiot Piss Illiterate rode on a frantic garage rock undercurrent, ‘Mirrorhead’ swaps ragged pace for bruising waves of heavy sound (Junkie Smile, Victimhead, Shame) interspersed with moments of stripped-back exposure (Fuck It I Quit, Muring Calm). The result  is Pink Mexico’s most definite and tangible work. ‘Mirrorhead’ is not only a record but a recollection of memories and experiences embroidered through experimentation and through the reconstruction of self. Through the unknown, Collum revisited music writing and re-imagined his work, tracing a new and personal path.

Mirrorhead was produced, recorded, engineered and mixed by Jeremy Scott. Robert Preston Collum wrote all songs, sings, and plays drums, guitar & synth on the album. Additional tracking was provided by fellow band mates Grady Walker providing bass and Paul Blackwell on guitar.

Pink Mexico Mirrorhead cover artwork
‘Mirrorhead’ track listing

1. Hot Air
2. Junkie Smile
3. Shame
4. Fuck It I Quit
5. Delete
6. …
7. Muring Calm
8. Dungeonhead
9. Stitches & Vicodin
10. Victimhead
11. Feeling Normal

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.