Porij release debut album ‘Teething’

Porij press photo
Photo credit: Jesse Glazzard

Porij have released their debut album ‘Teething,’ out via Play It Again Sam Records (Nation Of Language, Editors and Lykke Li). Alongside the launch of the debut album, the band has shared a video for album standout Don’t Talk To Me.

The 4-piece, who have carved a niche at the forefront of Queer-led dance-pop recorded the album with the legendary David Wrench (Frank Ocean, The xx, Young Fathers). With warm-up slots for Metronomy, Coldplay, Wet Leg and Friendly Fires alongside their own crowd-igniting shows – Porij have been met with a landslide of attention at press and radio, lauded as “ones to watch” by tastemakers including The Guardian, NME, BBC Radio 1 and BBC 6 Music, as well as support at Stereogum, KCRW, WFUV, FLOOD Magazine, Brooklyn Vegan and more. The arrival of Teething invites you to take a leap beyond seeing dance music as a genre, built from this type of kick or that type of snare, and instead as its own dimension: a place you can escape to. 

Watch the video for Don’t Talk To Me via YouTube below.

Porij have endured the sharp pains of self-discovery. Every raw nerve, every bloody scrape and sprain, have been necessary for that unavoidable thing we must grit our teeth and bare: growing up. Vocalist and keyboardist Scout Moore (Egg), bassist James Middleton, guitarist Jacob Maguire and drummer Nathan Carroll are armed with hard-won experience, strengthened bonds and a renewed sense of passion. Their debut album Teething is both a coming-of-age story and a bottling of the particular magic that is unmistakably – and definitively – Porij.

Rather than floating just beyond our reach on a digital cloud, Porij are a real band anchored to tangible sound. Following their success over the last 3 years , the band had awoken an appetite for something we didn’t realise we were so hungry for: a collision of between the worlds of indie-rock and dance music, weaving together the organic with the electronic to create something at once tender and transcendent.

‘Teething’ proves that change can cut deep, but the propulsion to keep moving is what saves you.

Porij Teething cover artwork

’Teething’ track list

1. Marmite

2. Unpredictable

3. Don’t Talk To Me

4. Endlessly Waiting

5. My Only Love

6. Ghost

7. Stranger

8. Sweet Risk

9. Gutter Punch

10. You Should Know Me

11. Slow Down

Listen to ‘Teething’ via all platforms here.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.