Post-punk/Darkwave group Executioner’s Mask share new track ‘Hatred Of Self’

Executioner’s Mask press photo

Executioner’s Mask has arrived at these darkest of times with its most haunting offering yet— the 11-song collection titled ‘Despair Anthems,’ due out July 10th via Profound Lore. The band has shared the album’s third and most personal single yet: Hatred of Self.  It’s a swirling, shadowy single that showcases the sonic depth found on ‘Despair Anthems’.  You can listen to Hatred of Self and check out the animated music video via YouTube below.   

Offering a modern take on the classic blueprints set by Pornography-era The Cure, The Sisters Of Mercy and Red Lorry Yellow Lorry, Executioner’s Mask is the darkwave brainchild of three unlikely suspects: Jay Gambit of noise metal unit Crowhurst on vocals, Ryan Wilson from Intestinal Disgorge on synth and drum programming, and LACE and Cop Warmth’s Craig Mickle also on guitar. The trio added Samus Clintonov to their live lineup on drum duties in addition to Joshua Bosarge on bass and Jim Reed on second guitar. With Gambit’s deep, velvety vocals front and center, the driving rhythm section provides the perfect backdrop for the moody and melancholic guitars. 

Executioner’s Mask released their demo ‘True Blue’ in 2018, which was cripplingly dark and solemn while weaving infectious hooks at every turn. Shortly after its release, Executioner’s Mask re-imagined and re-recorded those tracks, and completed 7 new songs that would round out their Profound Lore debut. Featuring production from Jeff Zeigler (Kurt Vile, Nothing) and Ryan Schwabe (Big Thief, Algernon Caldweller), ‘Despair Anthems’ sounds both icy and cavernous, and remains raw, desperate and satisfying throughout.   

Executioner’s Mask Despair Anthems cover artwork

Despair Anthems’ track listing

1.  The Defilers
2.  No Funeral
3.  Bury Me A Grave
4.  1988
5.  In the Night
6.  True Blue
7.  Growing Distances
8.  Hatred of Self
9.   Ratboy
10.  Freight of Fire
11.  Desperation Rising 

All songs written by Executioner’s Mask except “Freight of Fire” which is by Scud Mountain Boys. 

‘Despair Anthems’ is available for pre-order here ahead of its July 10 release date.