SQÜRL (feat. Jim Jarmusch) shares Anton Newcombe remix


SQÜRLSQÜRL, the trio led by legendary filmmaker Jim Jarmusch, has shared a remix of their song “Equinox” by Anton Newcombe of the Brian Jonestown Massacre. Newcombe renames the track “Gates Of Ishtar,” adds vocals, and transforms the fuzzed-out riffs of the original into hazy, expansive downbeat psychedelia. The remix is lifted from ‘EP #260,’ which is out now via Sacred Bones. The EP also features three new tracks, as well as a remix of the track “The Dark Rift” by Föllakzoid. Listen to Gates Of Ishtar via Soundcloud below. 

SQÜRL – EP #260

  1. Solstice
  2. The Dark Rift
  3. Equinox
  4. The Gates of Ishtar (Equinox Remix by Anton Newcombe)
  5. The Dark Rift (Föllakzoid Remix)

Pre-order ‘EP #260’: https://squrlnyc.bandcamp.com/album/ep-260

An enthusiastically marginal rock band from New York City who like big drums & distorted guitars, cassette recorders, loops, feedback, sad country songs, molten stoner core, chopped & screwed hip-hop, and imaginary movie scores.

SQÜRL began in 2009 when Jim Jarmusch and Carter Logan teamed with producer Shane Stoneback to record some original music for the film THE LIMITS OF CONTROL.  Echoing the varied Spanish landscapes captured in the film, the three emerged with a set of slow-motion psychedelic rock instrumentals (releasing them as Bad Rabbit).  Following these scoring sessions Jim, Shane, and Carter continued to record new originals while also exploring the back-alleys of American country, noise, and psychedelia.  SQÜRL released a series of 3 EPs, recorded over a 3 year period by Shane at Treefort Recording in Brooklyn, NY.

In 2012, Jim collaborated with baroque lutenist Jozef Van Wissem and released an LP on Sacred Bones entitled ‘The Mystery of Heaven’. In 2013 SQÜRL and Van Wissem began to compose and perform the score for the film ‘Only Lovers Left Alive’.   Bridging ancient and modern sounds, the score serves as a reflection of the distinct textures of Detroit and Tangier.  The film and soundtrack, the latter which also features Zola Jesus, Madeline Follin and Yasmine Hamdan, were released worldwide in 2014, and quickly earned the group the Cannes Soundtrack Award. Jarmusch and Logan’s collaboration continued as a duo with SQÜRL’s acclaimed score for ‘Paterson,’ and a trio with Stoneback for ‘EP #260’.