Tempesst announce new single ‘Walk on the Water’

Tempesst press photo

London via Australia folk/psych rockers Tempesst have shared their new single Walk on the Water, released alongside a stunning new video shot in the mountains of Snowdonia. Walk on the Water is lifted from the band’s recently released debut album ‘Must Be A Dream,’ via their own label Pony Recordings.

Directed by the band’s drummer Andy Banjanin, the video places the band in the heights of Snowdonia. Speaking on the video, Banjanin said: “We drove up to Snowdonia just the five of us, to hang out and shoot the video last winter. On the first day after we hiked up the mountain with all of our instruments and filming gear, we finally arrive at this incredibly beautiful lake just under Snowdon and set up ready to shoot the first scene. We were on the side of a mountain and I had a remote for the camera so I could operate it from the drums but it was about 50m away. Over the course of the first take, literally the very first shot, the weather changes from clear at the beginning of the song to full blizzard by the bridge. None of us know what to do so we just keep going until the song finishes before freaking out and packing everything up soaked and freezing. We didn’t get any more filming done that day, but it turned out to be the best shot of the video.”

Check out the video clip for Walk on the Water via YouTube below.

A wide-eyed excursion of folk-tinged psychedelia with nods to Spiritualized, Galaxie 500, the Flaming Lips and the Beach Boys, ‘Must Be A Dream’ is a dense, sun-kissed record that explores themes of identity, purpose, ageing, love, loss, substance abuse, the death of loved ones and remembering the beauty beneath it all.

Consisting of Sunshine Coast, Australia born twin brothers Toma (vocals, guitars) and Andy Banjanin (drums); the band is rounded out by fellow Australian’s Kane Reynolds (keys) and Blake Misipeka (bass), and Swiss/American guitarist Eric Weber.

Now all residing in London where debut album ‘Must Be A Dream’ was written and recorded, Tempesst have become well known for their sweeping, psych-touched indie rock – touring previously with the likes of Pond, The Temper Trap, Albert Hammond Jr, Jet and widely lauded by the likes of Lauren Laverne(BBC 6Music), Jack Saunders (BBC R1), Noisey, DIY Magazine, The Financial Times, Clash Magazine, NME, The Line Of Best Fit, Beats Per Minute and more.

Produced by longstanding collaborator Elliot Heinrich, and mixed by Claudius Mittendorfer (Parquet Courts, Temples, Yak, Sorry), ‘Must Be A Dream’ came together at the band’s very own Pony Studios, a studio space that Tempesst built themselves in Hackney, East London.

Tempesst Must Be A Dream album cover artwork

‘Must Be A Dream’ track list
1. Better Than The Devil
2. Must Be A Dream
3. High On My Own
4. Mushroom Cloud
5. Walk On The Water 
6. On The Run
7. Age Of The Bored
8. With A Woman
9. Is This All That There Is? 
10. Voices In My Head

Tempesst’s debut album ‘Must Be A Dream’ is out now, released September 30th, via Pony Recordings.

2021 tour dates

12/3 – London, Omeara 
13/3 – Bristol, The Lanes
14/3 – Birmingham, The Victoria
15/3 – Newcastle, Surf Cafe
16/3 – Glasgow, Broadcast