Temples announce details of their new album ‘Volcano’ + release new video


Temples have announced details of their second album titled ‘Volcano’. It follows their 2014 debut ‘Sun Structures’ and will be released on Friday March 3rd, 2017 via Heavenly Recordings.

It doesn’t take too long with ‘Volcano’ to realise that, while all the things that made the band special the first time around remain intact, a noticeable evolution has taken place. It’s there from the outset: the beefed-up beats of Certainty reveal an expanded sonic firmament, one in which bright synth hooks and insistent choruses circle around each other over chord sequences that strike just the right balance between nice and queasy. “If there’s a sense of scale,” says lead singer James Bagshaw, “It was really just a result of implementing a load of things that we didn’t know about the first time around.” Co-founding member and bassist Thomas Walmsley describes a record in which “we discovered a lot as we went along, and the excitement at having done so radiates.”

Watch the video for Certainty, which is lifted from Volcano via YouTube below.

‘Volcano’ track listing

1. Certainty
2. All Join In
3. (I Wanna Be Your) Mirror
4. Oh The Saviour
5. Born Into The Sunset
6. How Would You Like To Go
7. Open Air
8. In MY Pocket
9. Celebration
10. Mystery of Pop
11. Roman God-Like Man
12. Strange Or Be Forgotten


‘Volcano’ is out on March 3rd, 2017. You can pre-order the album on LP | CD | Digital.

Live shows

03/12/2016 — Rough Trade 40th Anniversary , Point Ephémère, Paris — tickets
16/12/2016 — People Powered, Concert for Corbyn at Brighton Dome — tickets
22/01/2017 — Heavenly Weekend at Hebden Bridge, The Trades Club — tickets
30/03/2017 — Electric Brixton — tickets