The Voodoo Children share new single ‘Let’s Get Married’

The Voodoo Children press photo

Nashville-based band The Voodoo Children released Let’s Get Married, the second song to be released for their debut EP ‘Instant Nostalgia – Side A’ out on April 24 via Blood Bathe Records. Listen to Let’s Get Married via YouTube below.

The Voodoo Children is an ever-evolving community-based project revolving around Grammy-nominated singer, songwriter, producer and visual artist JT Daly, who fronted the Nashville-based band Paper Route and more recently co-produced K. Flay‘s album ‘Every Where Is Some Where,’ including the hit single Blood in the Cut (for which Daly received Grammy nominations for Best Rock Song and Best Engineered Album). 

This was a special song to make. I wrote it with my wife (Sad Penny),” explains JT Daly. “We were already married (in case you wondering if the ‘yah, let’s get married!’ chant helped us realize our soulmate was the other writer). I love the line ‘when everything changes I want you there.’ To me, that’s at the core of every human relationship. How they handle ‘change.’ I’ve also been wanting a love song that shimmers with guitars and tambourine for a while now. There’s just something about that combination. It makes me feel.” 

The Voodoo Children previously released their debut single Caroline that went on to be featured by FLOOD Magazine, Alternative Press, Cool Hunting, NPR Music’s New Music Friday playlist, as well as the official Spotify playlists Fresh Finds, New Noise, and The New Alt. 

For the last 15 years, Daly has been recording and releasing music under the group moniker Paper Route, whose work (including three full-length records: Absence, The Peace of Wild Things, & Real Emotion) managed to penetrate the popular bandwidth with songs featured in (500) Days of Summer and FIFA 17 and a network performance on Late Night With Seth Meyers. All these little fires have been pursued alongside art exhibitions, design work for Paramore, Sufjan Stevens, and Mutemath, composing and producing the soundtrack for ESPN’s 30 for 30 film “Chuck & Tito.” Following his Grammy-nominated work with K. Flay, he produced and co-wrote Hallucinations with PVRIS, which was recently placed #1 on Billboard’s 25 Best Rock & Alternative Songs of 2019. 

Instant Nostalgia – Side A’ tracklist
1) 1969
2) Caroline
3) Let’s Get Married
4) Knocking At A Shut Door
5) Follow Blind
6) Mad Wave