Thurston Moore shares new single + video ‘Siren’

Thurston Moore press photo
Photo Credit: Vera Marmelo

The Daydream Library Series have announced that they will release the new full length record by Sonic Youth founder Thurston Moore entitled ‘By The Fire,’ which will be out September 25. The third 12 minute single Siren is out now via Bandcamp, accompanied by a short film of a mermaid fantasy under the sea. This is Thurston Moore’s seventh solo album, and features musicians Deb Googe (My Bloody Valentine) on bass and backing vocals, Jon Leidecker aka ‘Wobbly’ (of Negativland) on electronics, James Sedwards on guitar, and Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley, as well as Jem Doulton, alternating on drums. Watch the video clip via Bandcamp here.

Hashish was the first single lifted from the album to be released and is described by Moore as “an ode to the narcotic of love in our shared responsibility to each other during isolation.” The song includes a video with footage from The Thurston Moore Group’s tour in early 2020 in Europe, as well as footage of Thurston quarantined in his home during the past few months “with respect to the sacred healing truth of nature.” The second single released from ‘By The Fire’ was the righteous Cantaloupe with a video featuring friends in Thurston’s local skate park. 
Prior to isolation during the COVID pandemic, Thurston worked in recording studios in North London until the third week of March 2020 to complete this album for release on September 25. While the musicians may not immediately tour, Thurston was adamant to release ‘By The Fire’ in 2020, and with Daydream Library, has released this quote:
By The Fire is music in flames. 2020 is our time for radical change and collective awareness and Thurston Moore has written nine songs of enlightenment, released to a world on fire. Taking a cue from Albert Ayler’s ‘music is the healing force of the universe,’ this recording offers songs as flames of rainbow energy, where the power of love becomes our call. These are love songs in a time where creativity is our dignity, our demonstration against the forces of oppression. By The Fire is a gathering, a party of peace — songs in the heat of the moment.
Some of the songs feature all of the musicians whilst a few tunes are solo guitar and vocals. ‘By The Fire’ will come out via The Daydream Library Series distributed in North America by long-standing Indie communitarians and friends at Forced Exposure. The Daydream Library Series record label was founded in 2018 especially to release London Afro-punk feminist trio Big Joanie’s debut album ‘Sistahs’.

Thurston Moore By The Fire cove4 artwork

‘By The Fire’ track listing
1.) Hashish
2.) Cantaloupe
3.) Breath
4.) Siren
5.) Calligraphy
6.) Locomotives
7.) Dreamers Work
8.) They Believe In Love [When They Look At You]
9.) Venus (instrumental)