Transelement share new video for ‘Lost In An Eiderdown’

Transelement Press photo

After nearly 20 years since the record’s conception, The Creeping Bent Organisation have released the long awaited release of the debut album by Lancashire’s Transelement.

To coincide with the album release, the band have shared the video for the lead single Lost In An Eiderdown. The video clip recalls the quirky joy and beauty created by Oliver Postgate and Vernon Elliot, albeit delivered from the mushroom laden fields of rural Lancashire. Watch it via YouTube below.

‘Rural Tunings’ was recorded in 2001 and was scheduled to be released on Creeping Bent that year. It features 14 genre defying tracks by a band of teenage pop visionaries that were described by the late great John Peel as simply “weird”.  A huge admirer of the band, the legendary DJ invited Transelement into the BBC studios in Maida Vale to record two separate sessions in the space of a few months for broadcast on his show.

Transelement Rural Tunings album artwork

Track listing
01. Marlybourne Rusk
02. Booda Fly
03. Valentino Morriazzi
04. Lost In An Eiderdown
05. Bone Marrow Winky
06. Crackt Ol’ Cupboard
07. September In Edinburgh
08. Dusty & Brown
09. Dancing Dogs
10. Turban Paper
11. Old Martyr Horses
12. Past Twelve Theme Tune
13. Faberge
14. Chainmail

Formed in school by Jay Stansfield and Karl Eden (vocals / guitars / synths) and Mark Tattersall (drums / machines / tapes), they started scraping together aural weirdness on a broken four track tape machine, which led to an experimental approach to making skewed pop. The trio went through several name mutations, but in the late 1990’s they were called Element and sent a hand-coloured designed cassette through the letterbox of Douglas MacIntryre at Creeping Bent H.Q. in Mount Florida, Glasgow which at the time boasted a roster of Alan Vega & Revolutionary Corps of Teenage Jesus, The Leopards, The Nectarine No9, The Secret Goldfish, and Adventures in Stereo. Douglas MacIntyre tells the story: 

“We were really too busy with the artists we were already working with to sign anyone as we were receiving considerable attention and all of our groups were recording BBC Radio 1 Peel Sessions.

However, Transelement got their pop hooks in me and it was agreed a track would be released on the Creeping Bent Singles Club. The track Lord Aparts was immediately picked up by Peel and other turned-on members of the media. My craving could not be satisfied and it was decided to release a mini-album, ‘Sour Blaster’, which started connecting with a growing audience of weirdoids. The group were assembling and amassing a considerable number of songs all recorded on their faulty 4 track machine. An album was scheduled for release by us in 2001, but sadly was never released for various reasons too abstract to deconstruct here. It is undoubtably one of my favourite Creeping Bent releases so I’m pleased to be finally letting this album escape into the omniverse”.