Walt Disco release debut EP ‘Young Hard and Handsome’

Walt Disco press photo
Photo credit: Alasdair Scott

Walt Disco have released their debut EP ‘Young Hard and Handsome’ via Blood Records. 

A band who defy all convention to create a world of their own, truly like no other. Walt Disco’s fearless, unique pop songs are created without constraint, with a message of self expression at the very core of everything they do.

Led by their charismatic singer James Power, the six-piece is completed by keys player Dave Morgan, bassist Finlay McCarthy, guitarists Lewis Carmichael and Charlie Lock, and drummer Jack Martin.

Influenced just as much by 80’s New Wave acts such as Talking Heads and The Associates, as they are by the queer modern art-pop sensibilities of St Vincent, Charli XCX and even Ru Paul – Walt Disco’s firm grasp of both their historical and modern influences allow them to move forward as a band for the future.

Speaking on the release of the EP, the band said: “Cut Your Hair and Hey Boy have always felt like big songs ever since we wrote them, so they made sense as singles, but I think we all genuinely love the other tracks equally and they only showcase more of our range of songwriting, fun production and lyrical themes. It’s definitely a signal of the direction we’re continuing to take going forward. We’re really excited to have this body of work out as a physical release, and it was a joy to work with producer Thomas McNeice (Gang of Four) and with Ally Scott (Lucia and The Best Boys) on art direction.”

Blending a cacophony of sounds ranging from new wave and glam rock to queer modern art-pop, the Glasgow-based sextet’s youthful songs are as much dancefloor fillers as they are anthemic earworms. With a penchant for memorable songs which resonate across generations, vocalist and band leader James Power writes earnest lyrics about self-exploration and love in the digital age.

Having built a reputation for their riotous live show, Walt Disco relentlessly cut their teeth on tour across the UK and Europe last year including dates with Interpol, Sports Team and HMLTD. Following a summer of cancelled festivals, including the world renowned SXSW in Texas, Walt Disco are eagerly awaiting their next chance to get dolled up and take their fabulous show on the road. 

‘Young Hard and Handsome’ has become something of a mission statement for the group and their legion of fans, to whom they champion self-expression and self-love. Working with idiosyncratic producer Thomas McNeice of Gang of Four, Walt Disco have realised their vision of creating a new set of anthems for a new generation of misfits.

Walt Disco’s debut EP ‘Young Hard and Handsome’ is out now.

Walt Disco 'Young Hard and Handsome' EP Cover artwork
‘Young Hard and Handsome’ EP track list

1. Hey Boy (You’re One Of Us)
2. Cut Your Hair
3. I’m What You Want
4. Heather

5. Hey Boy (You’re One Of Us) – BOBBIE Remix (vinyl only)
6. Cut Your Hair – Wuh Oh Remix (vinyl only)
7. I’m What You Want – John Baillie Jnr Remix (vinyl only)
8. Heather – Jessica Winter Remix (vinyl only)

You can stream the EP at https://ffm.to/yhah or buy the 12″ vinyl at https://blood-records.co.uk/products/waltdisco.

The band will tour the UK in March 2021.

Tour dates (tickets)

1 March 2021 – Aberdeen, Tunnels
2 March 2021 – Dundee, Hunter S. Thompson
3 March 2021 – Dunfermline, PJ Molloys
23 March 2021 – London, Moth Club
24 March 2021 – Manchester, Yes (Basement)
26 March 2021 – Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete’s (Sold Out)