Weird Owl shares new track ‘Invisibility Cloak’

Weird Owl
Photo: Hal Horowitz
Weird Owl
Photo: Hal Horowitz

Brooklyn psych band Weird Owl releases its new album, ‘Bubblegum Brainwaves,’ this Friday, October 13th. The band’s sixth release in a decade, it explores themes of cognitive dissonance, darkness, and uncertainty and is highly informed by our current political climate. It was recorded and produced by Psychic TV guitarist Jeffrey Berner and features a guest appearance by the legendary Genesis Breyer P-Orridge.

The band have shared a final preview of the album with Invisibility Cloak, which combines catchy melodies with dark undertones to create a mysterious, otherworldly vibe. You can stream the track via SoundCloud below.

Since forming in 2004, Weird Owl has kept busy putting out a steady stream of new music and touring the US and UK. After self-releasing their first few albums, 2009’s Ever the Silver Cord Be Loosed and 2011’s ‘Build Your Beast a Fire’ (recorded by Justin Pizzoferrato and Bishop Allen’s Justin Rice) were released by Tee Pee Records. Later demos caught the attention of The Brian Jonestown Massacre’s Anton Newcombe, who released the band’s 2013 EP, ‘Healing,’ and 2015’s ‘Interstellar Skeletal’ on his own A Recordings, Ltd.

Live, Weird Owl has supported The Brian Jonestown Massacre on tour in both the US and Europe and performed at various festivals, including the Black Angels-curated Austin Psych Fest, The Liverpool International Festival of Psychedelia, and The Netherlands’ Incubate Festival. They will celebrate the release of Bubblegum Brainwaves at Brooklyn venue The Kingsland on October 20th — more info here.

‘Bubblegum Brainwaves’ track listing
1. Invisibility Cloak
2. You (Sometimes Not You)
3. Black Never White
4. Such A Myth
5. The Lizard & The Owl
6. War
7. Bartholomew Iris (ft. Genesis Breyer P’Orridge)
8. Many Things I Saw in the Coffin
9. Tired Old Sun