Post-punk duo Death Bells share new track ‘Heavenly Bodies’

Death Bells press photo
Artist Photo by Jeff Fribourg

Death Bells have shared a new track, Heavenly Bodies, a point blank delivery of a laconic truth: ‘We all vanish, anyway.’ The duo’s forthcoming album ‘New Signs of Life’ is due September 25th via Dais Records and is available for pre-order here 

Somber and cool, Heavenly Bodies eases into hushed staccato hypnosis while still finding the tenets of guitar-driven rock. The LA-via-Australia duo have always found power in contrast, and on Heavenly Bodies they balance a driving, expansive sound with an introverted meditation on the preciousness and shortness of life.  

Death Bells explain about the song: “Heavenly Bodies is the first track on New Signs of Life. We wrote it in a dining room shortly before a tour last August and refined it over those following dates. It focuses on the inevitable truth of mortality in a point-blank manner.”

Watch the lyric video for Heavenly Bodies via YouTube below.

Death Bells is the longtime musical collaboration between Will Canning and Remy Veselis. Formed in 2015 during their late adolescent years in Sydney, Australia, the act has proven to be a mainstay in the alternative underground musical landscape both in their homeland and overseas during their five-year history. Blurring the lines of post-punk and garage rock, Death Bells has morphed and transformed as the two members have grown up throughout their late teenage years living together into early adulthood. With Canning’s distinctive baritone and the kinetic collection of reverb-drenched leads by Veselis being a constant during their musical output, the two made the permanent move 7,000 miles away to Los Angeles, California in 2018 where the current incarnation of Death Bells has blossomed.   

Following the releases of their debut EP, much-loved first album, and seven-inch single on Funeral Party Records and their 2019 single on Metropolitan Indian, Death Bells have joined the Dais Records family for their highly anticipated sophomore album ‘New Signs of Life’. Three years in the making, the release sees the act embrace their diverse tastes to deliver unforgettable hooks and more expansive sounds across its nine graceful songs.  Engineered and mixed under the attentive eye of Colin Knight at Paradise Studios throughout mid-to-late 2019, ‘New Signs of Life’ is the band’s most complete work to date. Along with classic Death Bells brooding romanticism, the themes of the record divulge personal insight into their move across the world and both the strained and new relationships that have materialized throughout their existence.

Death Bells New Signs Of Life cover artwork

New Signs of Life’ track listing

1. Heavenly Bodies
2. Two Thousand and Twenty
3. New Signs of Life
4. Web of Love
5. The Sun That Shines Forever
6. A Different Kind of Happy
7. Alison
8. Sacred
9. Shot Down (Falling)

Slated for release on September 25th, ‘New Signs of Life‘ is the career-defining new chapter to commence the new decade. Pre-order ‘New Signs of Life’: