Lovataraxx announces new album ‘Hébéphrenie’

Lovataraxx press photo

French coldwave duo Lovataraxx have announced their new album ‘Hébéphrénie’.  The LP will be released on November 15 via Unknown Pleasures Records on vinyl and all digital formats.

Lovataraxx is a cold wave and minimal synth duo who have been taking us to familiar dark places with their bewitching melodies. They bring a personal touch to the darkwave pool, creating minimal and impulsive beats, or more danceable rhythms, softened by hypnotical and lethal voices. The French duo is chanting words based on mythological backgrounds, romantic poetry, fancy advertising slogans, or sci-fi novels. Their layers of synthesised sounds and icy bass riffs drowned in chorus effects are combined with the sharp and energetic sounds of the drum machines, reminiscent of the golden age of Suicide, DAF, Fad Gadget, Tuxedomoon or Kas Product.

Since their formation in 2013, Lovataraxx has toured across Europe and USA, haunting the underground stage, playing with varied punk, new wave, noise, electronic and indie bands. Their first EP, ‘Kairos’ was released in 2017 via Four 4 records (Grenoble, France) and laid down the groundwork for the new album, ‘Hébéphrénie’ which will be released via Unknown Pleasures Records.

Their debut full-length release fluctuates between elevations toward the faint glow of dreams and dives amid the encircling gloom. Named after the goddess of youth, ‘Hébéphrénie’ deals with the impression of “coming too late into a world too old,” feeling split into two different states of mind: delusion and disillusion, but there is no spirit of resignation or surrender throughout the 11 tracks of this album. The bitter observations are always sweetened by glimmers of hope and euphoric moments.

Lovataraxx Hébéphrénie LP cover artwork


1. Subjugué
2. Prostration
3. Angst
4. Araknee
5. Blok
6. Craving
7. Hoop
8. Ana Venus
9. Sidewalk
10. Medicine
11. Hellébore