Stream the new album by The Jesus and Mary Chain ‘Glasgow Eyes’

The Jesus And Mary Chain press photo

After receiving overwhelming critical acclaim which has drawn glowing comparisons with their classic debut ‘Psychocandy,’ The Jesus and Mary Chain have released their brand new album ‘Glasgow Eyes’ via Fuzz Club. Anticipation for ‘Glasgow Eyes’ has been at fever pitch as the band – brothers Jim and William Reid – unveiled the singles jamcod, Chemical Animal, and Girl 71, in the process earning airplay from Sir Elton John, Huw Stephens, KEXP, World Cafe, KUTX alongside a spread of streaming support and editorial coverage.

Produced by the Reid brothers at Mogwai’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow, the rest of the album more than lives up to expectations. The new focus track Silver Strings is a prime example, a song which inspired MOJO to imagine, “JAMC as the house band at a David Lynch sad disco.”

While multiple vinyl copies of ‘Glasgow Eyes’ sold-out in advance, a range of physical formats are still available here. Having debuted select songs from the album at intimate shows this week, tonight sees The Jesus and Mary Chain’s extensive headline tour get underway with a sold-out Manchester show at the Albert Hall, with two London shows at the Roundhouse also on the horizon. Remaining tickets are available here.

The long-awaited Never Understood biography has also just been launched and is available to pre-order here ahead of its release on August 15th. It sees William and Jim tell the full story of one of Britain’s greatest guitar bands for the very first time – a wildly funny and improbably moving chronicle of brotherly strife, feedback, riots, drug and alcohol addiction, eternal outsiders and extreme shyness, that also somehow manages to be a love letter to the Scottish working-class family. Limited edition Record Store and White Rabbit formats follow on September 5th, the latter of which includes an exclusive LP featuring extracts from the book narrated by each brother.

2024 US tour dates

05/11 Pasadena, CA – Cruel World

Glasgow Eyes cover artwork

Glasgow Eyes’ track list

1. Venal Joy
2. American Born
3. Mediterranean X Film
4. jamcod
5. Discotheque
6. Pure Poor
7. The Eagles and The Beatles
8. Silver Strings
9. Chemical Animal
10. Second of June
11. Girl 71
12. Hey Lou Reid



Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.