Andrew Hung shares new single ‘Space’ + announces new solo album

Andrew Hung press photo
Credit: Zoe Davis

Artist and musician Andrew Hung returns with a video for his new single Space. The single is lifted from his much-anticipated forthcoming album ‘Devastations,’ which is due out June 18th via Lex Records. The album also marks Andrew’s first new solo material since his 2017 breakthrough debut ‘Realisationship’, which saw him shatter expectations with his bold and unique new direction of expression, earning plaudits across a vast array of press and radio.

As co-founder of the highly influential noise-electronic duo, Fuck Buttons, Hung’s work has brought about three critically acclaimed albums as well as seeing him tour extensively with headline shows at the Kentish Town Forum, Glastonbury, Green Man and All Tomorrow’s Parties, as well as having music featured on the 2012 Olympics opening ceremony.

Since Fuck Button’s hiatus, Hung has become known not only for his solo material, but also for his work on film soundtracks and as a songwriter and producer. Notable collaborations include the likes of artist Beth Orton on her career redefining album ‘Kidsticks’ as well as, Aimée Osbourne for her debut album ‘Vacare Adamaré’ (released under the name ARO). Recent work in film has also seen Hung soundtrack movies from the likes of cult director Jim Hosking on his films ‘The Greasy Strangler’ (winning best comedy at the Empire awards), ‘An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn’ and ‘Tropical Cop Tales’ for Adult Swim.  

Whereas his debut album saw his personal new form of articulation manifest, ‘Devastations’ sees Hung further hone and actualise a sound that is entirely his own. The album’s lead single Space (out now) perfectly exemplifies this. Combining shimmering and volatile electronic elements with a tense and emphatic vocal, Hung experiments and knowingly toys with the balance between uplift, chaos and sanguine hope.

Watch the video for Space via YouTube below.

Speaking on the single, Hung says, “Space is about the fabric that connects us all i.e., space. We won’t find perfection in individual elements, but we can find perfection in the space that connects us and the outer edges of the known universe and beyond.”

In support of the new single, Hung will also be playing a livestream show on his YouTube channel on April 8th at 9PM GMT. The stream will feature the new single as well as an opportunity to hear further new album tracks in advance of release.

‘Devastations’ album details

Hung’s forthcoming album ‘Devastations’ is the ecstatic cry of colour found between light and dark. The album documents a transitional period in Hung’s life; a stepping out from the shadows. Hung explores the deepest recesses of his psyche and in doing so finds himself reconciling the light and dark within. Underlying the propulsive beats and prisms of noise is a melodic tenderness that weaves throughout the album; an offering hand emerging from a turbulent sky. The deepening of inner space becomes an exploration of the universal; a new beginning from the devastations of old worlds.

‘Devastations’ sees Andrew Hung push himself to the fore with his most candid and introspective material to date and sees a clear statement of intent in his creative odyssey. Hung wrote, performed, produced and mixed the whole album himself. He also painted the self-portrait that adorns the cover of the album. The oil painting further illuminates the artist’s intentions in his work; it depicts the artist stepping out of a shadowy world, partially lit by the bright light of the sun.

Devastations Album artwork by Andrew Hung

Devastationstrack listing
1. Battle
2. Promises
3. Brother
4. Colour
5. Light
6. Wave
7. Space
8. Goodbye

Devastations’ is out June 18th via Lex Records – Pre-order here

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.