Astrid finish recording forth LP + release LP 3 ‘One In Four’


Scotland’s Astrid surprised many this summer announcing they would be returning to the studio to record a fourth full-length album after a decade apart. Two of the original trio, Charlie Clark and Willie Campbell got together in Los Angeles, where Clark now resides, to lay down tracks at Canyon Hut Studios, with support from Dash Hutton (HAIM) on drums and Eric McCann behind the board producing. Bassist Gareth Russell is set to add his parts this month, after which Tony Doogan (Belle and Sebastian/Mogwai) will mix the record. The album is due out in the spring of 2016.

In the mean time, Astrid will digitally release their third full-length, 2004’s ‘One In Four,’ tomorrow (Friday, December 18) via Indiscretion Records. This will mark the first time the album has ever been available in a digital format.

Additionally, Astrid has announced a reunion performance, June 11 in Glasgow, at King Tut’s. Tickets are on sale now – purchase here.

The roots of Astrid’s formation go back to the early 90’s when Willie Campbell and Charlie Clark met at 11 years old. They bonded over a shared love of comics and music, playing in a band together that didn’t make it much further than the barn door that they practiced in. Charlie formed a real band with school friend Gareth Russell after Willie left their native Lewis for Glasgow. Charlie and Gareth both made their way to the city a year later, eventually forming Astrid with drummer Gary Thom. They asked Willie to join and Astrid was complete.

Astrid One In Four cover

‘One In Four’ track list:

01. Untitled 2
02. Something In My Way
03. Economy Class
04. Trinity
05. Seahorse Perfect
06. To Tell You The Truth
07. Sink Down
08. A Written Apology
09. Suitable For Frequent Use
10. Same Day, Different Number


More about Astrid? Astrid have released 9 singles, 3 albums and 3 EP’s, played triumphant sets at T In The Park and Glastonbury, toured and played with artists including Belle and Sebastian, Teenage Fanclub, Ben Lee, Lou Barlow and Snow Patrol, received accolades at SXSW in Austin, Texas and CMJ in New York, and were heavily supported by BBC Radio 1 until they ended in 2004.

Astrid’s newly recorded material is full of the energy that made them such a special act live, still featuring the smart pop sensibility and irresistible melodies/harmonies of Campbell and Clark, but coupled with a mature and more realized songwriting style.

For more information on Astrid, visit