The Joy Formidable announce new album ‘Into The Blue’

The Joy Formidable press photo
Photo credit: The Joy Formidable

On August 20, The Joy Formidable will release their anticipated album ‘Into The Blue’ (pre-order). The 11 song album will be available digitally and on limited edition coloured vinyl via Enci Records in North America, Full Time Hobby in Europe and Soundly Distro in the rest of the world.

The band have shared Back To Nothing, the second pre-release single lifted from ‘Into The Blue’ (pre-save). The song reflects on where you’ve been and how grief can heal and illuminate the future. Lead singer and guitarist Ritzy Bryan says, “‘Back To Nothing’ takes a stance on self-compassion, realizing your worth & your boundaries and deciding not to give your love to an undeserving other.” The new single is available now on all streaming services to add to your favourite playlists or you can listen below via YouTube.

Back To Nothing follows up the album’s critically acclaimed title track which was released last month. The song was praised by American Songwriter, Brooklyn Vegan, NME, NPR New Music Friday Playlisting, Under The Radar and received support at commercial and non-commercial radio including SiriusXM, NPR stations and BBC 2 in the UK.

Into The Blue’ vinyl variants and bundles

Official Store Exclusive – Limited to 500 Copies
– white marble 12” in printed inner sleeve (official store exclusive)
– blue marble 7” (official store exclusive)
– exclusive double-sided insert (exclusive to official store)
– exclusive signed postcard with the first 500 orders (exclusive to official store)

General Retail – Limited to 1500 (375 will be available in the U.S.) 
– opaque white 12” in printed inner sleeve (general retail exclusive colourway)
– black 7”

Indie Retail Exclusive – Limited to 700 (200 copies available in the U.S.) 
– transparent gold & black marble 12” in printed inner sleeve (indie retail exclusive)
– black 7”

Rough Trade Exclusive – Limited to 300 copies
– transparent gold & black marble 12” in printed inner sleeve (indie retail exclusive)
– white marble 7” (exclusive to Rough Trade)
– signed art print (exclusive to Rough Trade)
– online Q&A with the band, hosted by Huw Stephens on August 20th

More about ‘Into The Blue’

‘Into The Blue’ follows the band’s critically acclaimed, kaleidoscopic 2018 album ‘AAARTH,’ during which the band supported Foo Fighters on their North American tour, were invited by The Cure’s Robert Smith to play his Meltdown Festival in London and Pasadena Daydream fest in LA, and they performed on the mainstage at Reading & Leeds Festival. The band’s new album arrives into a much different world this time around, and birthed a new energy for the band. Even during the worst times, music will find ways to inspire & thrive. The album was written in North Wales and later completed at their homes in Utah, ‘Into The Blue’ is about opening your eyes to beauty & love again. Making it to the other side. The Joy Formidable’s Ritzy Bryan says, “Whilst not conceived as a metaphor for the times we all live in now, it certainly turned out that way.”

Rhiannon (Ritzy) Bryan & Rhydian Dafydd grew up together in North Wales before forming The Joy Formidable in 2011. Soon joined by drummer Mr. Matt Thomas, they have enjoyed an eclectic decade together creating a legacy that spans genres & celebrates their Welsh culture. Today, they split their time between North Wales and the closest thing they could find in the U.S. – “In the middle of nowhere” Utah. The band’s latest release ‘Into The Blue’ is about surrendering to love and magic. Having the courage to enjoy a new journey and the mystery and excitement of something unexpected. The band says, “It’s about opening your eyes to beauty and love again. Making it to the other side. Whilst not conceived as a metaphor for the times we all live in now, it certainly turned out that way.” This connection has flowed beyond the studio and into Joy Formidable’s other creative passion, their community focused TJF Music Club. Launched in 2018, TJF Music gives fans access to exclusive music, online shows and much more, forging part of a much needed new culture of direct artist support which they hope other artists could follow to empower themselves. TJF Music Club has also become a cherished way of connecting with fans while touring has ceased and yet flourishes beyond. Click here to request Backstage access.

‘Into The Blue’ album track listing

1. Into The Blue
2. Chimes
3. Sevier
4. Interval
5. Farrago
6. Gotta Feed My Dog
7. Somewhere New
8. Bring It To The Front
9. Back To Nothing
10. Only Once
11. Left Too Soon

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.