Yoo Doo Right share single ‘Presto, Presto, Bella’s Dream’

Yoo Doo Right Press photo
Photo credit: Stacy Lee

Montréal-based post-rock trio, Yoo Doo Right, have shared their thumping new single, Presto, Presto, Bella’s Dream. The new single comes off the back of the album-titled single which was released in March alongside announcing their debut record, ‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ which will be out via Mothland on May 21, 2021. Listen to Presto, Presto, Bella’s Dream via YouTube below.

More about Yoo Doo Right + ‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ LP

Inspired by the pounding rhythmic improvisations found in krautrock, the group combined noisy, melodic guitar parts, effect-heavy synthesizer soundscapes, nonchalant bass grooves and patented percussive furies into a literal wall of sound. Justin Cober (guitar, synthesizers, vocals), Charles Masson (bass) and John Talbot (drums, percussions), in their honest approach to experimentation, engage with elements of shoegaze, post-rock and psychedelia, crafting a unique sound that could be described as a “car crash in slow motion”.

Since their formation in 2016, YDR have developed their bombastic approach to psychedelia by releasing two EPs – working with Efrim Menuck (Godspeed You! Black Emperor) and Braids’ Austen Tufts and Taylor Smith – as well as a music video for the piece, The Moral Compass Of A Self-Driving Car. More recently, the three-piece released a split 7” via Mothland, featuring legendary Japanese experimental titans, Acid Mothers Temple, and the single Marché Pt. 3 (Ft. Jasmine Trails), found on the ‘Sounds From Mothland Volume I’ mixtape.

In 2019, Yoo Doo Right retreated to the studio to work on a debut album. Recorded between Montreal and Quebec City, ‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ proved another rewarding challenge for the three-piece, again aiming for new sonic horizons and pushing the krautrock, shoegaze and post-rock genres towards their ill-defined, proverbial “limits”.

The production spanned several weeks, harnessing the band’s vision alongside engineers Sebastien Fournier (Avec Le Soleil Sortant De Sa Bouche, Panopticon Eyelids, No Negative) at Hotel2Tango and Guillaume Chiasson (Ponctuation, Jesuslesfilles, Double Date With Death) at Le Pantoum, with Harris Newman (Wolf Parade, A Silver Mt. Zion, We Are Wolves) taking on mastering duties again. Part interstellar ear-worms, part sonic experimentations, their upcoming opus sees the trio relentlessly chase, and successfully capture, the very essence of their art, resulting in layered tracks ranging from mechanical krautrock to audacious space rock.

Speaking about the fantastically titled, Presto, Presto, Bella’s Dream, a firm example of the band’s penchant for weaving guitar riffs, complex time signatures and thundering percussion, Justin Cober of the band says: “Driving, simple, straight forward repetition, built into a psychedelic haze with no apparent meaning. Like the day the clocks struck midnight on January 1st, 1970. The title is an ode to both the tempo and a good friend who indirectly influenced us, helped us write this song.”

Live, Yoo Doo Right are straight-up loud, bold and assertive, laying on the boom with moxie, enveloping the audience in a brazen cloak-like musical fabric as the outside world disappears. Songs are played with a purpose, sets are built with an intent to unify, and expression takes on an intricate psychedelic form. Over the years, YDR have toured all of Canada and the United States, playing festivals such as Austin’s Levitation Psych Fest, M for Montreal, Sled Island and Pop Montreal along the way. In 2018, they embarked on an epic journey, taking on main support duties for Acid Mothers Temple’s North American tour, adding to the list of international bands they have shared the stage with that also includes DIIV, A Place to Bury Strangers, Wooden Shjips, Kikagaku Moyo, FACS, Frigs and Jessica Moss, amongst others.

Yoo Doo Right ‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ cover artwork

‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ track list

1. A Certain Sense Of Disenchantment
2. 1N914
3. Marché Dis Vivants
4. The Moral Compass Of A Self-Driving Car
5. Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose
6. Join, Be Curst
7. Presto Presto, Bella’s Dream
8. Black Moth

‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ LP, to be released on May 21, 2021 via Mothland, should absolutely please fans of Can, My Bloody Valentine and Metz, while also striking a chord with eclectic music aficionados who enjoy artists like Do Make Say Think, Beak> or Thee Oh Sees. Pre-order ‘Don’t Think You Can Escape Your Purpose’ here.

Be the first to comment

C'mon why don't you leave a comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.