Post-punk group Death Bells announce new album ‘New Signs Of Life’ + share title track

Death Bells photo
Artist photo by Jamie Parkhurs

LA-via-Australia group Death Bells have announced their new album ‘New Signs of Life’ and share its title-track, a grandiose statement, influenced by the theme song of HBO’s classic television program Six Feet Under. The duo delivers a shopping list of personal neuroses charged with wry optimism in New Signs of Life, dressing it with jagged guitars, brass, and percussion that provides a deliberate pace for Death Bells’ new chapter. As method gives way to melody, New Signs of Life exudes an urgent hope laced with drive and verve. 

Death Bells explains: “We started writing ‘New Signs of Life in Calgary whilst on tour around this time last year. More than anything, the song is about resilience in the face of change. It’s a very deliberate statement and sets the tone for what’s to come musically from us.”

Watch the video clip for New Signs of Life via YouTube below.

Death Bells is the longtime musical collaboration between Will Canning and Remy Veselis. Formed in 2015 during their late adolescent years in Sydney, Australia, the act has proven to be a mainstay in the alternative underground musical landscape both in their homeland and overseas during their five-year history. Blurring the lines of post-punk and garage rock, Death Bells has morphed and transformed as the two members have grown up throughout their late teenage years living together into early adulthood. With Canning’s distinctive baritone and the kinetic collection of reverb-drenched leads by Veselis being a constant during their musical output, the two made the permanent move 7,000 miles away to Los Angeles, California in 2018 where the current incarnation of Death Bells has blossomed.  

Following the releases of their debut E.P, much-loved first album, and seven-inch single on Funeral Party Records and their 2019 single on Metropolitan Indian, Death Bells have joined the Dais Records family for their highly anticipated sophomore album ‘New Signs of Life’.

Three years in the making, the release sees the act embrace their diverse tastes to deliver unforgettable hooks and more expansive sounds across its nine graceful songs.  Engineered and mixed under the attentive eye of Colin Knight at Paradise Studios throughout mid-to-late 2019, ‘New Signs of Life‘ is the band’s most complete work to date. Along with classic Death Bells’ brooding romanticism, the themes of the record divulge personal insight into their move across the world and both the strained and new relationships that have materialized throughout their existence.

The album is as advertised – it is the career-defining new chapter to commence the new decade. 

Death Bells New Signs Of Life cover artwork

New Signs of Life’ track listing
1. Heavenly Bodies
2. Two Thousand and Twenty
3. New Signs of Life
4. Web of Love
5. The Sun That Shines Forever
6. A Different Kind of Happy
7. Alison
8. Sacred
9. Shot Down (Falling)

‘New Signs of Life‘ is due out on September 25th via Dais Records and is available for pre-order here